KnowledgeBase | SP4-7 (SP76II) | Basic Concepts & User Interface


Saving User Data (BackUp)

Question:
How can I save (backup) all my SP4's user data?

Answer:

Note: All references to the "SP4" apply equally to the SPS4-8 and SP76II models.

This tutorial assumes you have v2.00 (or greater) already installed. Update your SP4-8, SPS4-8 and/or SP4-7 (SP76II) as needed.

The SP4 saves user content via direct USB connection to any Mac or PC. The SP4 saves all data from both User Banks (Program and Setup) into one file named "ALLOBJTS.SPX".

"Save All" Procedure:

  1. To begin, first turn on the SP4 and your computer, then connect a USB cable from the SP4's rear panel USB port to a USB port on your computer.

  2. On the SP4, press Global, then press the Chan/Param up (∧) or down (∨) arrow buttons until you find the "Save All ?" function:

    Save All ?

  3. Press the Next/+ value button below the display. A temporary removable drive named "SP4" will mount on the computer and the SP4 display will show "Press Next for saving":

    Press Next for saving

  4. Press Next/+ to initiate the save process. The SP4 screen will display:

    Saving...

    When finished saving, the SP4 will display:

    The file is in the temporary drive

    Your computer will issue a "device removal" message - you can cancel/ignore this.

    At which point, COPY** (drag and drop) the resultant "ALLOBJTS.SPX" file out of the SP4 temporary removable drive mounted on your computer to any location on your computer hard drive where you wish to store this file long term.

    **IMPORTANT: It is critical you copy the "ALLOBJTS.SPX" out of the temporary removable drive onto your computer hard drive *before* you exit the Global menu as the temp drive will be ejected and .SPX file erased when you do.

  5. Once the "ALLOBJTS.SPX" has been copied to your computer hard drive, press Program to Exit the Global mode. Your computer will again issue a "device removal" message - you can cancel/ignore this.

  6. Using your computer, it is recommended you rename the "ALLOBJTS" portion of the filename to something unique (keep the .SPX extension). As each save the SP4 creates uses the same "ALLOBJTS" filename, this will be useful in keeping your files identifiable and out of conflict.
Notes:
  • Pressing Previous/- will cancel the save operation and recall the "Save All ?" dialogue.
  • If no user objects are in memory when a save is attempted, the display will show the message "Nothing saved". Pressing Previous/- will recall the "Save All ?" dialogue pressing Next will retry.
  • If the SP4 is not connected to a computer, the display will show the error message "Please connect the computer". Pressing Previous/- will recall the "Save All ?" dialogue - pressing Next will retry to connect.

Loading a Backup File Back In

This section will detail how to restore (load) a full system backup file (ALLOBJTS.SPX).

Note: restoring a backup will erase all Programs/Setups currently in the User banks, replacing the User banks with the backup file's contents (factory banks are not affected). Before proceeding, be sure any User Programs/Setups in the SP4 that you wish to keep are already themselves backed up (see procedure above).

(If you just want to add more programs/setups to the user banks, without erasing present contents, use the "Load Fill" option instead.)

Load "Overwrite" Procedure:

  1. To begin the loading process, first turn on the SP4 and your computer, then connect a USB cable from the SP4's rear panel USB port to a USB port on your computer.

  2. On the SP4, press Global, then press the Chan/Param up (∧) or down (∨) arrow buttons until you find the "Load [overwrite]?" function:

    Load [overwrite]?

  3. Press the Next/+ value button below the display. A temporary removable drive named "SP4" will mount on the computer and the SP4 screen will display:

    Press Next for loading

  4. On your computer copy (drag and drop) the desired .SPX backup file to the SP4 temporary removable drive (only one file can be loaded). Wait for it to finish copying.

  5. Press Next/+ to initiate the load process. The SP4 screen will display:

    Loading...

    When finished loading the SP4 screen will display:

    File loaded

    Your computer will issue a "device removal" message - you can cancel/ignore this.

  6. To play the newly loaded content press Program and/or Setup then the "Bank" button to select the User bank. Your computer will again issue a "device removal" message - you can cancel/ignore this.
Notes:
  • Pressing Previous/- will cancel the load operation and recall the "Load (overwrite)" dialogue.
  • If no file is in the SP4 temporary drive during the load, the display will show the message "Load error". Pressing Previous/- will recall the "Load (overwrite)" dialogue pressing Next will retry.
  • If the SP4 is not connected to a computer, the display will show the error message "Please connect the computer". Pressing Previous/- will recall the "Load (overwrite)" dialogue - pressing Next will retry to connect.


Need more info? Check out the following links: